Quadrangular International at Lleida

Catalonia 8 defeat France 4 in final to regain title

Catalonia regained their grip on the Quadrangular International trophy with an 8-4 victory over holders France in the final. Catalonia won five of the eight singles to clinch victory. Andorra finished third after a 10.5 to 1.5 success over Galicia.

It was advantage Catalonia after the foursomes in the Quadrangular International at Lleida. Thierry Gendreau and Damien Ducept of France did win their match against Eric Puig and Jordi Serra but the Catalans won the other three encounters to take a 3-1 advantage into the singles. Andorra led Galicia 4-0 in the play-off for third place.

Holders France qualified to play Catalonia in the final of the Quadrangular International. Catalonia won 6.5 singles to beat Galicia overall by 10.5 to 1.5. Full scores here. France were 10-2 winners over Andorra. Full scores here. Andorra now play Galicia for third place. 

After Foursomes play at Lleida in the Quadrangular International, Catalonia enjoyed a healthy 4-0 advantage over Galicia while France were ahead of Andorra by a similar margin. Eight singles were then played in each match. Full scores here

Catalonia were top seeds after the Strokeplay round of the Quadrangular International at Lleida. The Catalans totalled 33 under par 237 to lead holders France by sixteen strokes. Andorra were next on 273 while Galicia scored 276. Catalonia play Galicia in the Saturday afternoon semi-finals while France faced Andorra.

Rafa Ramos and Jordi Serra fired a fantastic eleven under par 43 fourball score for Catalonia while David Solé and Paco Salido both posted singles returns of 48. Full scores here

Andorra joined holders France, Catalonia and Galicia. Basque Country and Switzerland were not involved. The team lists are:

Andorra: Josep Escabrós, Xavier Feliubadaló, Ricart Morat, Moises Pernia, Juan Pablo Reyes, Angel Rubio, Joan Valls, Jose Manuel Veloso.
Catalonia: Emili Sanmartin, Eric Puig, Jordi Serra, Rafa Ramos, David Sole, Marta Farres, Paco Salido, Dario Silva.
France (holders): Damien Ducept, Michel Espanol, Thierry Gendreau, Eric Biget, Laurent Duffourc, Thibaut Ferré, Jean François Grelet,Yann Le Tallec.
Galicia: Matilde López, Manuel Freire, Francisco Poy, Manuel Silva, Juan Codesido, José López, Pepe López, Antonio Suazo.

18 holes Strokeplay will be played on Saturday morning to decide Matchplay draw. The Matchplay semi-finals will be played on Saturday afternoon with the finals on Sunday.




EPPA/FIPPA General Assembly

Agenda released


Iberian Teams Open

Casa Vella Aparthotel win at Xixerella