II European Strokeplay - Liam O'Donovan wins at Orvelte

Ireland's Liam O'Donovan has been crowned European champion

Former Irish Matchplay and Strokeplay champion Liam O'Donovan just edged out fellow Irishman John Cahill to win the second European Strokeplay championship at Orvelte, Holland.  O'Donovan birdied each of the last five holes for a Sunday 50 and  a 54 hole aggregate of 19 under par 143.  Liam O'Donovan has a wonderful European championship pedigree.  He is a four time European team champion with Ireland.  John Cahill, who won the Irish Strokeplay championship in 2001, closed with a final round of 50 for his 144 tally.  John Ross Crangle was third on 145.  JR has now finished in the top three in both European Strokeplay championships.  Completing a clean sweep for Ireland, Ray Murphy, Kieran Earls and Frank Dineen finished on 16 under par 146.  Frank secured fourth slot on the tiebreaker.  Rolf Kwant also scored 146 to be the best placed non Irish contestant.  Pacelli Darcy (Ireland) is the European Seniors (Over 55 champion).  Pacelli scored 165.  Holland's Esther De Schiffart took ladies laurels on 164.  Holder Ian Farrelly defended very honourably with 156 for 16th place. Michel Van Zijl (Holland) was juvenile winner (170).


Rolf Kwant and Liam O’Donovan were tied for the lead overnight at the II European Strokeplay championship in Orvelte.  Kwant added a brilliant 46 second round to his opening 47 for a 15 under par 36 hole total of 93.  O’Donovan, who aced the 5th in his opening 45 was also bogey-free in his 48 second time round.  The pair led by just a single shot from Ireland’s John Cahill (45+49).  First round leader John Walsh faltered slightly but was still poised on 95 alongside John Ross Crangle.  Another Irish duo, Kieran Earls and Ray Murphy, lurked on 97.

John Walsh of Ireland was the first round leader at Orvelte. Walsh fired an eleven under par opening 18 of 43 to lead by two strokes from fellow Irishmen John Cahill and Liam O’Donovan.  Two other Irish players, Ray Murphy and John Ross Crangle were a further shot back on 46.  Next on 47 was the best placed non Irish participant, Rolf Kwant (Holland), who was level with Ireland’s Thomas Lynch.  

John Deeble (GB) won the pre tournament Matchplay event, defeating Ireland's John Crangle in the final.



Calendar 2016

FIPPA has released the following Calendar for 2016


II EUROPEAN STROKEPLAY - Revised participant listing

The Organising Committee has issued a slightly revised list of players for the II European Strokeplay.