Irish Open 2016

A second Irish Open triumph for Frank Dineen..

2010 winner Frank Dineen (Ireland) won his second Irish Open at Rocklodge.  Frank fired a fantastic 43 final round on Sunday to post a 27 under par total of 135 for the three rounds.  That gave Dineen a one shot victory over another two-time Irish Open winner Damien Fleming (Ireland). Frank Dineen finished his fnal round with six successive birdies.  Damien closed with a Sunday 47 for his 136 tally.  Overnight leader Bryan Delaney (Ireland) placed third with 137 after his 49 final round.  Reigning Irish Strokeplay champion Liam O'Donovan was fourth on 23 under just ahead of first round leader Shane Murphy with -22.

Breda Lonergan (Ireland) was a five stroke winner in the ladies open.  Reigning Irish Strokeplay champion Breda scored 55 on Sunday to finish on level par 162.  Local Rocklodge player Mary Murray finished second.  The British Ladies Open champion also carded 55 on Sunday for her 167 aggregate.  Holland's Herma Kleinlugtenbeld finished third on 174.  

Pacelli Darcy picked-up yet another Over 55s victory.  Pacelli scored 53 on Sunday for a 54 hole total of 11 under par 151.  Pacelli finished just a stroke clear of Irish colleagues Anthony Malone and Sean Minogue, who also returned 53 on Sunday.  Catalonia's John Frederick Evans (165) finished leading overseas player in the men's event, just a single stroke clear of Holland's Maurits Rangkouw (166).

Detailed scoring here

Event photo album here

Former Irish Strokeplay champion Bryan Delaney took a one shot lead into Sunday's final round.  Delaney, who was runner-up in the inaugural Irish Open seven years ago, surged into the lead with a brilliant second round of 43.  That left the Fermoy Co. Cork player 20 under par on 88.  Delaney was just ahead of 2009 and 2011 Irish Open winner Damien Fleming.  Damien fired a fantastic 42 in the second round to add to his opening 47.  Poised on 90 was Liam O'Donovan, a three time international open winner and the reigning Irish Strokeplay champion.  O'Donovan was also around in 43 second time.   Frank Dineen and first round leader Shane Murphy were next on 92.  Breda Lonergan led the ladies event.  The reigning Irish Strokeplay champion was on 107 and five ahead of fellow Irish player Mary Murray.  Pacelli Darcy headed the senior leaderboard on -10, one clear of Sean Minogue.

Sunday tee times are available here

Full Saturday scores here

Heavy rain in the Cork area delayed the start of the Irish Open.  Play commenced at 10.30. Irish Matchplay champion Shane Murphy led after the first round on 44. Bryan Delaney (Ireland) shot 45 while defending champion Eamon Gibney was next on 46 alongside another former winner Frank Dineen (Ireland) and Thomas Hanley. Holland's Esther de Schiffart led the ladies on 54 one ahead of Ireland's Breda Lonergan.

Niall Winters won the pre tournament 6 hole Matchplay competition.  The Trim, Co. Meath player defeated Ian Leech (St. Anne's, Cork) in the final.

Article on Rocklodge here.  Past Form Guide here.

Saturday tee times have been announced and may be accessed in the image document below.  

Following the opening ceremony at 8.30am on Saturday players will play 36 holes in 2 sessions. A final 18 holes will be played on Sunday with tee offs determined by Saturday's score. Points to note, FIPPA rules apply, Dress code will be enforced.  An exhibition fourball will precede the first round.  Pitch and Putt legends T.J. O'Riordan and Mick Forrest will play against Rocklodge Club Officers Michael Mannix and Michael Murphy.

Details of the 2016 Irish Open may be accessed below.  

PPUI contact details:
Telephone:01 6251110

Rocklodge has hosted more Irish national championships and national events than any other course.  Formed in 1946, Rockodge is one of the oldest Pitch and Putt courses in the world.



Calendar 2017

FIPPA has released the following Calendar for 2017...


V World Cup

Ireland are crowned World champions