Irish Open 2018

Third title for Damien Fleming

The VI Irish Open was played at the Seapoint course in Co. Louth on 25/26th August, 2018. 

Scoreboard here Photo album here

Ireland's Damien Fleming scored a final round 49 on a tough day at Seapoint to win his third Irish Open. Reigning Irish Strokeplay champion Damien finished two strokes clear of fellow Irishmen, playing partner Ray Murphy (who secured second on the tiebreaker despite bogeying the last) and Frank Ryan who carded an impressive 47 on Sunday. Padraic Sarsfield (Ireland) was fourth on 142 with first round joint leader Darren Fagan fifth on 143. Geraldine Ward produced a fine closing round of 48 to win the ladies open with 14 under par 148, six clear of Chrissie Byrne and seven ahead of Esther de Schiffart. Under 16 winner was three time Irish Strokeplay champion Evan Carry who fired a 47 on Sunday for a spectacular three round aggregate of 16 under par 146. Evan's Irish international colleagues Glenn Towler and Luke Murphy were second and third on 155 and 157 respectively. A sensational performance from Ireland's Frank Ryan who won the Over 55 Category with a 21 under par tally of 141, ahead of fellow countrymen Dennis Monaghan and John Campbell Senior. Dennis was awarded top senior prize in light of Frank Ryan's overall heroics. Alex Albinana Bril (Catalonia) was best non Irish player on 149 ahead of fellow Catalan John Fredrick Evans.

A sunny but breezy day on the links at Seapoint on Saturday for the first two rounds of the VI Irish Open. Damien Fleming (Ireland) took a two shot lead into Sunday's final round as he sought a third Irish Open title. The reigning Irish Strokeplay champion was 18 under par on 90 (43+47) and two clear of fellow Irishmen Ray Murphy (47+45) and Darren Fagan (43+49). Geraldine Ward (Ireland) led the ladies open on 8 under, two clear of Dutch player Esther de Schiffart and four ahead of Chrissie Byrne (Ireland). Irish duo Evan Carry and Glenn Towler topped the under 16 leaderboard on 99 while Ireland's Frank Ryan (94) was leading senior.

Shane Murphy (Ireland) was also poised on 14 under par 94. Ian Donnelly and Paul Nolan, both of Ireland, were next on 95. Catalan Alex Albinana Bril added a 52 to his brilliant opening 46 to be leading non Irish player on 10 under par.

Score updates and Sunday tee times here

Ireland’s Darren Fagan and Damien Fleming (Irish Open winner in 2009 and 2010) were the first round leaders. Playing on his home course in the early morning group, former Louth Matchplay champion Fagan fired a fantastic eleven under par score of 43. Darren’s outstanding score was matched in the third session by current Irish Strokeplay champion Damien Fleming. Fagan and Fleming held a two stroke lead over former Irish Matchplay champion and  Catalan Open runner-up Shane Murphy. Catalan Strokeplay champion Alex Albinana Bril and Ireland’s Dean Grannell (a 2006 Inter-County winner with Wexford) both scored 46. Ray Murphy (Ireland), the three time international open winner, was in a group of seven on 47, which included fellow Irish players Sean Goggin, Weeshie Murphy, Ian Donnelly, Dennis Monaghan, Paul Nolan and Padraic Sarsfield.

Chrissie Byrne (Ireland). Geraldine Ward (Ireland) and Dutch native Esther de Schiiffart were tied on top of the ladies leaderboard on 51. Weeshie Murphy (Ireland) was the top over 55 performer with 47 while the Irish trio of Luke Murphy, Cillian Courtney and  Glenn Towler were the early pacesetters in the Under 16 section.

The field of 162 must be one of the strongest ever assembled for an international open. Read brief pen pictures of some of the leading contenders and personalities here.

Tee times and pairings have been announced for Saturday's first and second rounds. See the draw here.

Read all the historical statistics here. See a past form guide here.

See the entry list here.

The title sponsor of the Irish Open will Ireland's leading pensions and investment firm, Irish Life. The Irish Open Poster and logistical details are attached below. 



Ireland v. Catalonia

Ireland regain International Challenge Cup


EPPA/FIPPA General Assembly

Agenda released