James Rogerson won the Australian Open for the third time in Canberra. The tall international player, previously champion in 2009 and 2010, triumphed with something to spare from Tom Rickit and Jack Kalis. Rogerson, who spent much of the year in Europe was unstoppable, carding 47+43+47+48 for a magnificent 31 under par total of 185. Tom Rickit, who played with James Rogerson in Australia's 2012 World Cup silver medal team, scored 98 on Sunday for a 198 aggregate and second place. Fifteen year old Jack Kalis, from the Wiradjuri Pitch and Putt Course at Wagga Wagga, impressed with a 72 hole total of 201 to take third place.

Helen Angel is the Australian Open women's champion, winning a sudden death play-off with Sandra Hutchison. The pair had tied on 221, Sandra Hutchison making up a nine shot overnight deficit with rounds of 55 and 54 on Sunday. June Drury, the 2009 winner, was third four shots behind. Sandra Hutchison finished second for the second year in a row.

The first day's play at the Australian Open saw James Rogerson ahead with a brilliant score of 90 whilst Stewart Genge and Arthur Jelly both shot 98. The Women's standings were Helen Angel on top after a fine score of 103, with Viv Dixon on 110 and Sandra Hutchison on 112. It was 29 degrees Celsius on Saturday at the Southern Cross course in ACT.