Farrelly and Rogerson - Top Performers in Opens

With James Rogerson’s recent triumph at the Australian Open, two players jointly sit atop the Roll of Honour of all-time international Pitch and Putt Open victories.

Rogerson is tied with 2011 European Strokeplay champion Ian Farrelly (Ireland).

The ebullient Australian gathered his victory haul over a twelve year period while Ian Farrelly netted all of his triumphs during a fruitful four year span in the noughties.

Both players are widely-travelled but all of 2013 World Strokeplay runner-up James Rogerson’s victories have been recorded in Australia. Ian Farrelly has chalked up wins in five countries across two continents.

James Rogerson’s run began at the Australian International Matchplay championship in 2008. It was the era of Eero Tarik’s Triple Crown. Rogerson defeated fellow Australian Brendon Underwood by 3&2 in the final.  

Immediately after clinching the Australian international 9-hole championship at Glanville Hall, James quickly captured the 2009 Australian Open with a 72 hole aggregate of 12 under par 204 at Valley View (Adelaide). That was a first of four Rogerson victories in the Australian Open and further wins have followed in 2010, 2012 and 2020. The 2010 success at Canberra International was marked by a phenomenal four round total of 190 (-26). But Rogerson would top that two years later when he scorched round Canberra in 47+43+47+48 to post the all-time second lowest 72-hole aggregate in the tournament’s history.

Ian Farrelly’s string of successes started at the San Marino Open in 2005. Ian fired 15 under par 147 at Cesenatico on 9-10 July to finish a stroke clear of Alan Hanlon. Anto Kavanagh (Ian’s regular travelling companion) was next on five under par.

French Open success followed for Ian in 2007 and 2008. 142 at La Grande Motte in 2007 proved two better than fellow Irishman James Carroll while 150 a year later a same venue gave Farrelly the laurels by a single stroke from Rolf Kwant (Netherlands).

Ian was in unstoppable form at the 2007 Australian Open. Having carded opening rounds of 45 and 46 to lead by five at the halfway stage in Canberra, he moved six clear after a third round 45 and added a closing 48 to cruise home by eight strokes from Alan Hanlon.

Farrelly left Rogerson in his wake at Canberra and the Australian was again on the leaderboard at Farrelly’s next win – the Italian Open in 2008. However, nobody really got within touching distance of Farrelly at the Virginia club in Lombardy.  Ian finished 22 under on 140, eleven strokes ahead of second-placed Alan Hanlon.

Farrelly carded a final round 49 to win the 2009 Dutch Open at Bussloo where his 54 hole aggregate of 19 under par 143 left him four strokes clear of the fast finishing Patrick Luning (Netherlands).

Rogerson and Farrelly both figured on the leaderboard at the 2013 World Strokeplay championship in Tambre. That was a championship James appeared destined to win before a late double bogey saw him finish second to John Walsh. Walsh was also a factor at Imjelt (Norway) in 2011, finishing a single behind Ian Farrelly’s 145.

Alan Hanlon has won five international opens.

Ian Farrelly represented Ireland at the 2008 Willie Parker Challenge Cup match at R.G.S.C. against The Netherlands. Farrelly contributed one foursomes win, two fourball successes and a couple of singles scalps to earn five points out of a possible six.

James Rogerson proudly wore the Australian colours at the World Cup at Royal Meath in 2012. The Aussies made it all the way to the final before losing to champions Ireland. Rogerson finished third in the Strokeplay qualifying round and won four of his six Matchplay encounters.