European Strokeplay Championships


Liam O'Donovan of Ireland won the second European Strokeplay championship at Orvelte, Netherlands.  

Liam just edged out fellow Irishman John Cahill to win the second European Strokeplay championship at Orvelte, Holland.  O'Donovan birdied each of the last five holes for a Sunday 50 and  a 54 hole aggregate of 19 under par 143.  Liam O'Donovan has a wonderful European championship pedigree.  He is a four time European team champion with Ireland.  John Cahill, who won the Irish Strokeplay championship in 2001, closed with a final round of 50 for his 144 tally.  John Ross Crangle was third on 145.  JR has now finished in the top three in both European Strokeplay championships.  Completing a clean sweep for Ireland, Ray Murphy, Kieran Earls and Frank Dineen finished on 16 under par 146.  Frank secured fourth slot on the tiebreaker.  Rolf Kwant also scored 146 to be the best placed non Irish contestant.  Pacelli Darcy (Ireland) is the European Seniors (Over 55 champion).  Pacelli scored 165.  Holland's Esther De Schiffart took ladies laurels on 164.  Holder Ian Farrelly defended very honourably with 156 for 16th place.  Michel Van Zijl (Holland) was juvenile winner (170).



 John Deeble (GB) won the pre tournament Matchplay event, defeating Ireland's John Crangle in the final.