European Strokeplay Championships

The third European Strokeplay championship was played at the Central Park course in Dagenham, London, England from August 16-18th, 2019. John Cahill of Ireland is the new champion. Cahill closed with a 49 on Sunday for an 18 under par aggregate of 144 to just hold off fellow countryman John Walsh who scored a 48 final round. Eamon Gibney (Ireland) finished third, John Deeble (Britain) fourth and Ireland's Denis O'Sullivan fifth. 

Esther de Schiffart (Holland) retained the Ladies title with a 7 under par aggregate of 165. Esther's 50 on Sunday saw her finish eight clear of runner-up Liz Quinn (Ireland). Herma Kleinlugtenbeld (Holland) finished third. Irish players dominated the Over 55 Category. Anto Kavanagh produced a fine 49 on Sunday to post the winning aggregate of 8 under par 154. That was a single stroke clear of holder Pacelli Darcy (second on final 18) and Barry Morrissey (third).

Full scores here                                                                Updated facts and figures following the 2019 championship here                                             Photo album here

John Cahill (Ireland) added a 49 to his opening 46 to take control after Saturday play on 13 under par 95. Cahill was two strokes clear overnight from former World Strokeplay champion John Walsh (Ireland). Esther de Schiffart (Holland) was well placed to retain her ladies title. Esther was on 105 after two rounds to hold a five stroke lead heading into Sunday's final round. Irishmen Barry Morrissey and Dennis Monaghan were tied on 6 under par in the race to be leading over 55 player.  

Sunday tee times here

Ireland's John Cahill was the leader after the first round on 46. Barry Morrissey (Ireland) scored 49 to top the over 55 list. Liz Quinn (Ireland) led the Ladies championship with 52. 

Saturday draw here.



Image Gallery: