Euskadi Open

The inaugural Euskadi (Basque) Open was played at the Urduna course on 19th/21st May 2023.

Josep Iglesias (Catalonia) romped to a decisive victory, shooting a 49 final round for an eight under par winning aggregate of 154. That proved thirteen strokes better than runner-up Alberto Alcaraz (Catalonia).who was round in level par 54 on Sunday. Another Catalan Miguel Angel Soler finished in third place overall (won the Senior category) with a three-round tally of 169. Antonio Penalba (Catalonia) was fourth also on 169, the same score as fifth-placed Daniel Fuentes (Galicia). Dutch player Herma Spaargaaren scored 190 for 54 holes and claimed a three stroke ladies win over Amparo Francisco (Catalonia). Best home player was Juan Medina.

Final leaderboard here

Josep Iglesias (Catalonia) added a 52 to his first round 53 and took a two stroke lead into Sunday's final eighteen on three under par. Bracketed on 107 were first round leader Antonio Penalba (Catalonia) who scored a 58 second round and Victor Rodriguez (Galicia) who improved five shots on his opening effort with a best of the second round 51. Gorka Fernandez remained the leading home territory player on 119 while Herma Spaargaaren (Netherlands) topped the ladies leaderboard on 123.                                                    

Sunday tee times here

Antonio Penalba (Catalonia) carded an opening 49 and led by two strokes after Round One from Daniel Fuentes (Galicia). Josep Iglesias (Catalonia) was the only other player under par with 53. Best Basque player was Gorka Fernandez on 57 and top lady was Dutch player Herma Spaargaaren.

First round tee times here.

See the full list of confirmed entrants here. 

Players from Euskadi, Galicia, France, Netherlands, Andorra and Catalonia will compete.

Image Gallery: