Quadrangular International/5 Nations

The 2019 Five Nations International tournament was played at Urduna on July 27th/28th 2019.  Holders Catalonia won six of the eight singles to claim the title from runners-up France. Galicia scored 5.5 in the singles for an overall tally of 8.5 in third place while Andorra (6.5) and Basque (3) were fourth and fifth respectively. 

France took an early lead in the final, winning 2.5 points from the morning foursomes. Galicia led the chase for third place with three points, from Andorra (2) and Basque 1. 

Sunday Foursomes Draw

Catalonia totalled 14 points in Saturday's fourballs, foursomes and singles to reach Sunday's final in which they faced France who scored 9.5 points on Saturday. Andorra (6), Galicia (6) and Basque (4.5) played off for third, fourth and fifth.

France won four foursomes to jump into second place (one point behind) after the second session of play. Catalonia continued to lead with six wins. Andorra were third, ahead of Galicia and Basque.

After the Saturday morning fourball, Catalonia led after winning three of their matches. Galicia were next, followed by Andorra, Basque and France.

Saturday fourball tee times
Saturday foursome tee times
Saturday singles tee times

Urduna successfully hosted the 2018 European Team Championship. 

Catalonia were represented by Amador Rodríguez, John Evans, Josep Iglesias, Emili Sanmartín, Ricard Díaz, Berenguer Ortí, Marc Fortuny and Daniel Solavera.

The French team was: Yann Le Tallec (Quiberon), Thierry Gendreau (Fontenelles), Damien Ducept (St. Jean de Monts), Michel Espanol (Tls Seilh), Johan Janssens (Old Course Cannes), Jean Rouch (Salies du Salat), Eric Biget and Frederic Muzard (Le Tremblay/Mauldre). 1° Reserve: Samuel Prechel (Tls Téoula)

Galicia's team was David Sánchez, Álvaro Ferreiro, Marcos López, Antonio Sánchez, Jorge Sarmiento, Nacho Prada, Víctor Rodríguez and Peter Mervin.

The Andorra line-up read Antoni Armengol Naudi, Josep Escabrós Duró, Xavier Feliubadaló Moles, Pepe García García, Alberto García Martín, Arnaud-Raymond Mur, Moisés Pernía Moreno and Joan Valls Andiñach.

The Basque Country selection was: Manuel Santiago, Juan Medina, Pablo Múgica, Jon Ander Ceanuri, Juan Ignacio Sánchez, Koldo Salcedo, Eduardo Vicente and Juan Carlos Busto. The Team Captain is  José Ipiña.




Image Gallery: