Australian Open 2020

James Rogerson wins fourth title on 149

The 2020 Australian Open was played at the Canberra International course from November 20/22. James Rogerson closed with a final round 53 to post a thirteen under par winning aggregate of 149. Rogerson won his fourth Australian Open title by seven strokes from Arthur Jelly and Tony Dorrell. June Drury was the ladies winner on 165, her 56 on Sunday meaning the 2009 winner (and since three times runner-up) finished two strokes ahead of Beryl Morgan.and Helen Angel.

Full scores in second image document below. 

Former three-time champion James Rogerson continued to dominate on Saturday. The 2009, 2010 and 2012 winner fashioned a 50 in the second round to lead on 12 under par 96 with one round to play. Previous four-time kingpin Tom Rickit was round in level par on Saturday to lie second after 36 holes on three under par 105. Arthur Jelly and Tony Dorrell were next on 106 while Mark Darcy was one under par. Helen Angel and June Drury both scorched round in 51 on Saturday and now occupied the top two ladies' positions - Helen on 109 and June on 110. Holder Sandra Hutchison was third with 113.

James Rogerson fired a fabulous first round 46 on Friday to take a five stroke lead into Saturday's second round. Tom Rickit was second on 51 while Stuart Campbell, Mark D'arcy, Tony Dorrell and Tony Ryan all scored 52. Sandra Hutchison carded an impressive one under par 53 to lead the ladies open by five strokes from Helen Angel. 

See the full entry list here and the tee times here.

This year's Open was a three-day 54 hole event as opposed to the usual/traditional 72 hole tournament (with a 36 hole social event run in conjunction with the Open). 18 holes were played on Friday, Saturday and Sunday to decide the Open winner for 2020 and the 36 hole event had 18 holes played only on the Friday and Saturday. Same tee times and pairings applied each day.
See local press publicity pre-tournament here See local tv coverage here


Applications invited for FIPPA 2021 Calendar

Provisional 2021 schedule


FIPPA Board Announcement

Important updates from FIPPA Board