2022 Irish Open

Evan Carry wins by one stroke from Patrick Murphy and Kieran Earls

The VIII Irish Open was played at the Tullamore course in Co. Offaly from July 23rd/24th, 2022. 

The most decorated Irish juvenile player of all time, Evan Carry holed a six foot birdie putt on the final green at Tullamore to shoot 48 on Sunday and 143 (-19) overall to win by one from Tullamore's own Patrick Murphy and Kieran Earls (Ireland). Earls went close with a birdie chip on that final green and settled for a final round of 47 for a 144 aggregate. Patrick Murphy also signed for a Sunday 47 to jump up into second place, just pipping Kieran Earls on the tiebreaker. John Walsh (Ireland) was in a prime challenging position on Saturday night on 96, but a closing 51 left the World Cup and European championship winner fifth on fifteen under par, with William Buckley Junior (Ireland) narrowly taking fourth place, courtesy of a 49 final eighteen.

See scores here 

There was great celebration for Tullamore as the popular local member Anthony Galvin claimed Senior (Over 55) honours with a last round 49 for a 54-hole tally of 151. The host club completed dominated that category with Paul Carey clinching second place. In a threeway tie for runner-up, Carey's 51 on Sunday narrowly edged out clubmate Paddy Kelly (who was third on the countback) and Erry's Leonard O'Meara who both scored 53 final rounds.

An outstanding 48 in the final round by Eleanor Walsh (Ireland) saw the 2017 World Ladies Strokeplay champion from Fermoy win the Irish Ladies Open.  That left Eleanor four under the card on 158, a full six strokes ahead of former two-time winner and overnight leader Chrissie Sheedy (Ireland) who finished second with Esther de Schiffart (Netherlands) third on 166, just ahead of Breda White (Ireland) on the last eighteen.  

Sunday tee times here

A fabulous second of 45 enabled Ireland’s Evan Carry to post a thirteen under par total of 95 and take a one stroke advantage into the final round of the Irish Open at Tullamore.

The four-time Irish Juvenile champion led by a single stroke from 2013 World Strokeplay kingpin John Walsh (Ireland) who signed for successive rounds of 48 for his 12 under par tally.

Next was 2020 Irish Matchplay champion Kieran Earls who carded a 46 second round for 97 overall, just ahead of William Buckley who scored 98 in the early morning rain to be the leader after the opening wave.

Another three Irishmen, Jimmy Quinn, Leonard O’Meara and Paddy Kelly were on 99.

2013 World Ladies Strokeplay champion Chrissie Sheedy (Ireland) sat atop the ladies leaderboard on 107/.

Chrissie shot 54 and 53 to lead by three from 2017 World Ladies Strokeplay champion Eleanor Walsh (Ireland) with Breda White (Ireland), the World Ladies Over 55 champion next on 112.

Ireland’s Paddy Kelly and Leonard O’Meara were the leading senior (Over 55) players on 99. Their fellow countryman Paul Carey was next on 101 with another Irishman Anthony Galvin on 102.

Leading non-Irish players were Jorge Sarmiento (Galicia) and Maurice Stuyvers (Netherlands) who both scored 108.   

The superb Tullamore course has hosted all of the major Irish championships over the years.

A threeball Scramble event was hosted at the neighbouring Erry course on the eve of the Irish Open. Tullamore (Paul Carey, Patrick Murphy, P.J. Murphy) won with Erry (Stephen O'Brien, Aengus Coughlan, William Buckley Junior) second.

See statistics of past opens here.  See Form Guide here

Saturday tee times may be seen here.

A new trophy was commissioned for the event and to honour the memory of the late Shane Murphy RIP - see the first image document below. The third image document shows the event scorecard.

The official polo shirts (7th and 8th image documents below) may be ordered here.

234  players entered (including 48 international entries from Catalonia, Andorra, France, Galicia and Netherlands). A maximum of 180 players played in the Irish Open so domestic pre-qualifying was necessary. Those pre-qualifying rounds were played at Navan and Larkspur Park on May 22nd. Timesheets here                                Scores here

Preliminary details of the 2022 Irish Open may be found on the 2022 Irish Open website here and in the attached .pdf.

Organisers invited entrants to join an Irish Open WhatsApp group, which provided updates on the event. See all the details here.



FIPPA President

Michael Murphy elected in Tullamore


IV Breizh Open

Yann Le Tallec successful at Quiberon