Five Nations 2022

Galicia win for the first time ever

The 2022 Five Nations Tournament was played at the Ourense course in Galicia from July 1st/3rd.

Hosts Galicia can celebrate their first ever success in the event after collecting all eight singles points on offer. Vital singles wins by Peter Mervin Henry over Antonio Penalva (by 3&2) and Alejandro Fernandez by 2&1 against Amador Rodriguez saw the Galicians finish the event on 22 points, 0.5 ahead of holders Catalonia. Andorra took third place from France. Both teams finished on 10 points (with Andorra gaining more singles points, 4 to 2.5). Basque finished fifth.

Catalonia won all of their Sunday morning Foursomes matches and led at that stage on 15.5, 1.5 ahead of Galicia with just the singles to play. The Foursomes matches were interrupted by rain and thunder.

Galicia won all of their Saturday evening Greensomes matches and trailed holders Catalonia by just half a point heading into Sunday's foursomes and singles matches. Catalonia lost a Greensomes to Galicia and halved with France who were in third place overnight.

Saturday Evening Greensomes Matchplay results.

Catalonia won all four of their Saturday afternoon fourballs to top the points table on 9 at that stage, ahead of Galicia on 7. The hosts claimed three fourball wins. France are next, followed by Andorra and Basques.

Saturday afternoon Fourball Matchplay results.

Catalonia led the way on five points after the first Round Strokeplay. The Catalans scored  298 (-26) for the best six scores out of eight to finish just one stroke clear of the hosts. Galicia gained four points for their 299 total. France were next for three points on 325, ahead of Andorra (343) and Basque (358). Full Scores here

Friday 1st was the official practice day, with competition taking place on Saturday 2nd (starting at 10.30am - see pairings below) and Sunday 3rd. A qualification tournament on Friday (scores here) determined Saturday's order of play.
The teams were made up of eight players.
The Basque team was: Pablo Mugica, Koldo Salcedo, Jon Ruiz, Jon Luengas, José Ipina, Sergio Ipina, Jon Ander Ceánuri and José Manuel Camunas.
France were represented by: Thierry Gendreau - Chef de délégation, Michel Espanol - Capitaine, Eric Biget - Capitaine adjoint, Vanessa Renoult (junior fille), William Renoult, Yann Le Tallec, Christophe Sauvaire, Michel Le Gall.
Andorra's team was: Carmen Morales Frasnedo (Captain), Domènec Ferràn Roca, Hugo Fernández Rodríguez, Jose Manuel Veloso Domonte, Josep Saiz Segarra, Juan Pablo Reyes Rey, Martí Castella Zanuy, Oscar Morán del Valle and Xavier Feliubadaló Moles.
Catalonia lined-out as follows: Joel Girbau, Barry Coomber, Marc Fortuny, Oriol Mas, Joan Bertrán, Amador Rodríguez, Antonio Penalva and Jaume Vidal.
Galicia team was Angel Cameron, Jorge Rodríguez Sarmiento, Teodoro Fernández, Juan Carlos Surribas, Alejandro Fernández, Pablo Rodríguez, Victor Rodriguez and Peter Mervin. 
Rules, Format and Itinerary are attached below


IV Breizh Open

Yann Le Tallec successful at Quiberon


Andorra International Pairs

Win for Roger and Alexandre AlbiƱana