Catalan International Pairs 2022

Ponsdemenech and Gimenez win by four

A final round of 44 in Sunday's fourball saw Xatalans Xavier Ponsdemenech and Daniel Gimenez win the Catalan International Pairs tournament at Sant Cebria. Ponsdemenech and Gimenez scored a 54 hole aggregate of 26 under par 134, which finished four strokes better than former winners Oriol Mas and Eric Puig (Catalonia) who scored 46 on Sunday for their 138 tally.

In a Catalonia dominated leaderboard, Manuel Amor and Carlos Villardell signed for a final round of 44 to clinch third place on -18, just ahead of defending champions Joel Giirbau and Lluis Cucurull who posted 45 on Sunday for their overall 144. Fifth place went to Josep Iglesias Miralpeix and Angel Navarro who carded 48 on Sunday after their 96 return on Friday. Irish World Cup and European championship winners Eamon Gibney and John Walsh saved their best for Sunday (45) to be the best non-Catalan pair on 16 under par, just ahead of compatriots Conor Fahey and Liam O'Donovan who also shot 146. Marilyn Holmes (Catalonia) teamed-up with Irishman Denis O'Sullivan to post a 54-hole score of 149 to capture Best Mixed laurels by two from  Maria Isabel Vidal and Javier Rodriguez (Catalonia) 

Full scores here

Xavier Ponsdemenech and Daniel Gimenez (Catalonia) led into the final round .A brillant 43 in Greensomes and 47 in Foursomes for an 18 under par 36-hole aggregate of 90, saw Ponsdemenech and Gimenez two strokes better than fellow Catalans Oriol Mas and Eric Puig - the 2019 winners. Amador Rodriguez and Jordi Clotet (Catalonia) were next on 95 while the leaders from Friday Josep Iglesias Miralpeix and Angel Navarro were fourth on 96. Best non Catalan pairing were the Irish duo Aengus Coughlan and Jimmy Taylor with 11 under par. Maria Isabel Vidal and Javier Rodriguez (Catalonia) were tied for the Mixed lead with Catalan/Irish combo Marilyn Holmes and Denis O'Sullivan.

First and secound round Tee times 

See event poster and full details attached.





Bernard Dinnat retires

Tributes paid to an outstanding CPPF President


European Seniors Strokeplay Championship

Rolf Kwant is the champion