Dutch Open 2020

Marcel Ahuis retains his title

Holder Marcel Ahuis (Koekange) retained his Dutch Open title with a devastating display at Koekange. Marcel fired a phenomenal 46 on Sunday to pip former winner and clubmate Rolf Kwant. Marcel's 54-hole total of 15 under par 147 ended just a single shot ahead of Rolf, who returned a fine 47 final round. Renze Hasper, Mathijs Slomp and Remon De Groot finished tied for third on 158.

Esther de Schiffart (Papendal) won the 2020 Dutch Ladies Open. Esther posted a final round of 57 for a 54 hole aggregate of one under par 161. Two-time European Ladies Strokeplay champion Esther finished nine strokes clear of Dutch compatriot Herma Kleinlugtenbeld who closed with a 54 for her 170 total. Femke Bussen (Papendal) claimed third place on 180.

Noel Shannon (Lemele) scored 55 on Sunday to record a six stroke victory in the Seniors (Over 55s) Dutch Open. Shannon's three-round tally of two over par 164 saw him finish clear of Jan Marc van’t Lindenhout (Oostvold) who carded a 59 final round. Third-placed finisher in this category was Gerard Spaargaren with 174.

Final scores here  

Marcel Ahuis and former winner Rolf Kwant were tied for the 36-hole lead heading into the final round.  Ahuis scored a 49 second round and Kwant added a 50 and the pair were level overnight at 7 under par 101. Marcel and Rolf were four strokes clear of first round leader Remon De Groot with Renze Hasper and Mathijs Slomp both on -2.

Esther de Schiffart looked odds-on to win yet another international ladies open title. Esther scored a fine 51 second round to post 104 overall. That was four under par and a dozen shots ahead of nearest rival Herma Kleinlugtenbeld. Noel Shannon maintained his stranglehold on the Seniors (Over 55) tournament. Shannon added a 53 to his opening 56 for 109. That gave Noel a two stroke advantage with a round to play over Jan Marc van’t Lindenhout (Oostvold).

Sunday tee times here

Remon De Groot (Rhoon) fired a sizzling seven under par 47 to lead by three strokes after the opening round of the 2020 Dutch Open at Koekange. Second was Mathijs Slomp of the host club on 50. Two players were tied for third on 51 – Renze Hasper (Oostvold) and Koekange’s Rolf Kwant. Holder Marcel Ahuis (Koekange) was on 52. Esther de Schiffart (Papendal) posted an opening 53 to lead the ladies open by four from Herma Kleinlugtenbeld. Noel Shannon (Lemele) sat atop a tightly-bunched senior (Over 55) leaderboard on 56, a single stroke clear of Peter Brouwer (Groningen).

See here for Saturday tee times. See here for list of entrants.

Rolf Kwant defeated Maurits Rangkouw in the final of the Matchplay warm-up event. Full Friday Matchplay draw and score details here

Tournament website here

For some entry criteria and prize fund changes see here.

Opened in 1998 by founder Erik Jorritsma, Koekange was the Netherland's first Pitch and Putt course. Ireland's Ray Murphy won an invitational open at Koekange in 2001 (it was held in conjunction with the opening of a course at nearby Groningen). Dutchman Rolf Kwant finished second with Ireland's Marina O'Rourke third.




Five Nations 2020

Andorra win final against Catalonia


Irish Open 2020

Pat Malone wins on fifteen under par 93.